28 Nov 2015

28.11.2015 Dorchester Abbey – Mozart’s Requiem

28th November 2015
Oxfordshire, Dorchester Abbey

Benson Choral Society (dir. Chris Walker)

Ola Gjeilo: Sunrise Mass
Mozart: Piano Concerto No 24 in C minor
(soloist Anita D’Attellis)
Mozart: Requiem

Nika Goric – Soprano
Carris Jones – Mezzo Soprano
Martins Smaukstellis – Tenor
Timothy Murphy – Bass

Whilst the Mozart masterpieces need little introduction, few will have come across Gjeilo’s atmospheric Sunrise Mass. Although using the Latin text, this is neither a sacred nor a secular work, but one that takes the performer and listener on a spiritual journey in four short movements – from the mystery of The Spheres (Kyrie) to the earthly tune (and what a tune!) of Identity and Ground (Sanctus).